About this site

As of summer 2021, this website is under the purview of the History Communication Institute.

This website was created in September 2016. It was assembled by Kathryn Cramer Brownell, Assistant Professor of History at Purdue University; Charisse L’Pree, Assistant Professor of Communications at the Newhouse School at Syracuse University; and Jason Steinhauer, public historian in Washington, D.C. and program specialist at The John W. Kluge Center at the U.S. Library of Congress. It was designed by Jaime McClennen, graduate student at the Newhouse School.

Below is a list of individuals and institutions who have contributed to the creation of the field of history communication.

Individuals (listed alphabetically):

  • Richard Anderson, PhD Candidate, Princeton University
  • Yoni Appelbaum, senior editor at The Atlantic
  • Ed Ayers, President Emeritus, University of Richmond
  • Vincent Brown, Historian, Harvard University
  • Kathryn Cramer Brownell, Assistant Professor of History, Purdue University
  • Michael Caires, Post-doctoral fellow and Nau Center affiliated faculty member, University of Virginia
  • Julio Capo, Assistant Professor of History, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Nathaniel Comfort, historian of recent science, Johns Hopkins University
  • Liz Covart, Host, Ben Franklin’s World
  • Ambassador Carolyn Curiel, executive director of the Purdue Institute for Civic Communication
  • John Dichtl, President & CEO, American Association for State and Local History
  • Michelle Emick Ronholm, Ronholm Communications
  • Tony Field, producer, Backstory Radio
  • Julie Golia, Director of Public History, Brooklyn Historical Society
  • Christopher Graham, Mellon Curator, American Civil War Museum
  • Jim Grossman, Executive Director, American Historical Association
  • Jennifer Hart, Assistant Professor of African History, Wayne State University
  • Nicole Hemmer, Assistant Professor at the Miller Center of Public Affairs
  • Claire Jerry, Curator, Division of Political History, Smithsonian National Museum of American History
  • Jessica Johnson, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Dane Kennedy, Director, National History Center
  • Lindsay Sarah Krasnoff, Historian, Consultant, Global Sports Strategies
  • Charisse L’Pree, assistant professor of communications, Syracuse University
  • Jill Lepore, Historian, Harvard University
  • Kevin Levin, Historian and educator
  • Shola Lynch, documentary filmmaker
  • Amanda Lyons, Visuals for Change
  • Marla Miller, Director of the Public History Program, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Amanda Moniz, Assistant Director, National History Center
  • Eric Olson, Outreach Coordinator for the PressForward project, George Mason University
  • Rebecca Onion, History writer, Slate.com
  • Christian Ostermann, Director of the History and Public Policy Program, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
  • Emily Redman, Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Samuel Redman, Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Stephen Robertson, Professor and Director, Roy Rosenzweig Center for History & New Media, George Mason University
  • Lily Rothman, Editor, TIME.com/history
  • Malgorzata Rymsza-Pawlowska,  Associate Director Public History Graduate Program, American University
  • Eric Schulze, Science Communicator
  • Cathy Stanton, Senior Lecturer, Tufts University
  • Jason Steinhauer, Director, Lepage Center for History in the Public Interest
  • Robert Whitaker, Louisiana Tech University
  • Jamia Wilson, Executive Director, Women, Action & the Media
  • Jennifer Young, Education Manager, New-York Historical Society

Institutions & Organizations (listed alphabetically):

  • American Association for State & Local History
  • American Historical Association
  • National Council on Public History
  • National History Center
  • Purdue University
  • Smithsonian Digital Studio
  • University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Wayne State University
  • West Chester University

History Communication is an evolving discipline, and this website will evolve along with it. Follow #histcomm on Twitter.

%d bloggers like this: